March 23, 2023


Rivertown Film Society is devoted to celebrating, exploring and promoting the art of the motion picture through film screenings and educational programs.

Activities in support of this mission are intended to enhance audience appreciation of the motion picture, encourage support for filmmakers and the local film community, provide educational programs related to the art and craft of motion pictures and to help build the cinematic arts audience of the future.

Rivertown Film Society recognizes the marginalization of people for reasons including race, ethnicity, immigration status, religion, age, geography, ability, sexual orientation, and/or gender and gender-identity, and we recognize the need for of all communities to be represented in the content, culture, and business of motion pictures.  We work to include those who have been traditionally excluded from movies and movie making in our programming of films as well as in our organization. In working toward these goals we seek to form partnerships with local organizations that share the values of diversity, equity, inclusion, and access.

Creative Advisory Board
Declan Baldwin
Bill Batson
Ellen Burstyn
Didi Conn
Jonathan Demme (1944-2017)
Alex Gibney
Rich Guay
Bill Irwin
Sakina Jaffrey
Ellen Kuras
Ric Pantale
Nancy Savoca
David Shire
Susanna Styron
Sam Waymon
Kristi Zea

Board of Directors
Board Chairperson: Vera Aronow
Vice Chair: Roger Seiler
Secretary: Patricia Schneider
Treasurer: Betsy Hastedt
Alma Richmond
Bea Pohl
Deborah Silverstein
Susan Shapiro
Elliot Siegal
Emily Blake
Lynda Zittell
Judith Peacock
Suzanne Mitchell
Susan Kirshner
Mark Brownstein
Robert C. A. Sorensen

Executive Director: Matthew Seig

Technical Services
Martiny Jean-Baptist

Website: Doug Foster, Foster Solutions Inc.

Graphic Design
Sam Smith – PainterSmith
Marilan Lund